AMPTP “Scene of the Crime” Rally

One of our last great rallies before the Christmas break was held last week outside the Death Star-ish home office of the AMPTP in Encino.

AMPTP “Death Star” in Encino (Dec. 18, 2007)

Organized by some of the Guild’s top-ranking crime show writers — people from the various “CSI” incarnations, “The Shield”, “Numbers”, you name it — the event was called the “Scene of the Crime Rally” and kicked off with “CSI” star (and wife of SAG President, Alan Rosenberg) Marg Helgenberg reading a “criminal indictment” against the AMPTP aloud from the back of a truck.

“CSI” star Marge Helgenberger @ the AMPTP (Dec. 18, 2007)

“Numbers” star Rob Morrow @ the AMPTP (Dec. 18, 2007)

Accusing the Studios and Networks of “hijacking the internet” and a number of other hilariously worded (but sadly, mostly true) crimes against writer-kind, the indictment was only the beginining. For immediately following the reading, members of the WGA wrapped the entire perimeter of the AMPTP headquarters in bright yellow CRIME SCENE tape. Kick ass!

Despite the rain, we had an impressive turnout as we spent the next two-plus hours walking the make-shift picket line just beyond the crime scene tape.

Me & “Bones” star Emily Deschanel @ the AMPTP (Dec. 18, 2007)

Aside from Helgenberger, “Numbers” star Rob Morrow, and “Bones” super cute leading lady, Emily Deschanel (above), there were also dozens of supporting actors from any number of high-profile crime shows.

But I think my favorite folks out there were “My So-Called Life” creator Winnie Holzman, my new best friend, “Terminator 2” and “The Unit” star, Robert Patrick, and the hilariously attired cast of “RENO 911”.

Winnie Holzman & Me at the AMPTP Rally (Dec. 18, 2007)

Me & “T2″ star Robert Patrick at the AMPTP (Dec. 18, 2007)

Trust me, even with that big ass jacket, Lt. Dangle must have been freezing in those little brown hot pants. So, kudos to you, Thomas Lennon (seen practically humping my friend Patty, below) for keeping it all too real on the picket line!

“Reno 991″ star Lt. Dangle & Patty on the picket line (Dec. 18, 2007)
All in all, it was a criminally good time (sorry, I couldn’t resist) and we manged to seriously piss off the building manager with all that yellow crime scene tape, so hey, that’s something! Go, union!
Me, Patty, Aaron & Tanja behind the CRIME SCENE tape (Dec. 18, 2007)

And for the record, we totally cleaned up the tape before we left…

4 Comments

Filed under Do

4 responses to “AMPTP “Scene of the Crime” Rally

  1. Loves it! Very cool idea, this crime show protest. I see you writers still have a couple of good ideas every once in a while! 🙂

    Seriously, loved the celebrity pics too, especially the one you snapped of CSI staple Marg Helgenberger. I was also glad to see that she wore her costume from the re-make of Singin’ in the Rain.

    Wow, that Rob Morrow doesn’t quite look the same as he did in his Northern Exposure days. Who’s the guy next to him wearing the hat?

    I only saw one episode of Bones, and that Emily Deschanel is a hottie, but not as much as her co-star David Boreanaz!

    As for Winnie Holzman, I’m sure you must have asked her the one question that I have been wanting to know since 1995, right?

    Much better shot of your best friend, T2’s Robert Patrick. Unlike the last time he appeared in your blog, you can actually see his face!

    Awesome shot of the Reno 911 guy. Those hot pants are hilarious.

    Okay I don’t really have any comments for the last picture, but since I’ve commented on all the others, I can’t just exclude this one. So let me just say, I love the rainbow umbrella! 🙂

  2. yeti9000

    Ha…I just got your Rob Morrow joke…HILARIOUS! Really, I was like, what is James’ problem, he is the guy in the hat. Ha! That subtle Gomez humor stumps me again!

  3. Next time you see Winnie, tell her that my present from Tim was fifth-row seats to see Wicked at the Pantages.

  4. Are you standing in a hole or is Robert Patrick like seven feet tall?

Leave a comment