Mother’s Cookies bites the dust…

I know it’s been a while since our last post, and while I could make excuses for why we haven’t written, or where we’ve been, the biggest reason for the lag in posts is that we’ve been in serious cookie mourning, amigos.

Yep, you read the title correctly, Mother’s Cookies, that sugar-coated staple of our grade school lunches has baked their last frosted circus animal cookie.

Apparently Mother’s has been through four different owners in recent years and has been seriously hemorrhaging cash for decades, but still, this is a company that has been in business for 92 years…you’d think some cookie-loving CEO would save them.

Sadly, that was not to be, and so, Mother’s Cookies abruptly closed their doors last week…forever. Christine and I were so shocked by the news that we hurried over to Von’s to see if they had any Mother’s Cookies left. Luckily for us, they did. And although we didn’t buy the store out on that visit, we just might head back in a couple days to stock up.

Christine was bummed that she couldn’t find a whole bag of her favorite Mother’s Cookies — the pink and white frosted circus animal cookies, above — but she was more than happy to pick them out of the Cookie Parade grab bag we found. And she was even more excited to find a big, beautiful sleeve of the Iced Oatmeal cookies from her childhood just waiting for her on the top shelf. Yum!

Personally, my favorite Mother’s Cookies were the plain old Mini Chocolate Chips. They weren’t as good as homemade chocolate chip cookies, but they were cheap and yummy and you could fit like, twenty of those little bitches in a plastic sandwich baggy…so, needless to say, I kinda loved them.

I think we’re most sad to know that our unborn child will never get to experience the totally processed joy of Mother’s Cookies for themselves. I’m not kidding, we were so distraught that we actually looked for bags with expiration dates of like, two years from now, but they didn’t exist. Every bag we found at Von’s expires sometime around mid-January of next year.

And seeing as there will be no more Mother’s cookies delivered after today (the 20th of October) I guess that’s the end of the line…cookie-wise.

So, for now, we’ll just have to settle for the pictures above and the warm, fuzzy memories of simpler times spent sharing Mother’s Cookies with friends in the school cafeteria. Ha, who am I kidding, I never shared my cookies with anyone.

Either way, vaya con díos, Mother’s…we’ll miss you!

14 Comments

Filed under Eat

14 responses to “Mother’s Cookies bites the dust…

  1. Melissa

    OMG, I will miss those circus animals with their weirdly waxy sweet coating! I will miss the English Tea cookies, too. How can the brand that shows up at every work potluck be doing that badly?

    And thanks for the “cookie-wise”…very nice!

  2. Ha…glad you appreciated my tip o’ the hat to “The Apartment”. And as for the English Tea Cookies, I don’t think I’ve ever had them…what’s in them? There is a nice plain vanilla type of cookie in the Cookie Parade that I really dig, is that an English Tea Cookie? Dying to know!

    I’d hate to think that Mother’s left this earth without me having tried EVERY flavor of her store-bought goodness! 🙂

  3. Cathy

    You haven’t had the English Tea Cookie! So sad…better go buy some before they are gone. Those are my cookie jar staple.

    One word for handing down these yummy cookies to your little bundle of joy…freezer. Get one of those vacuum pack dealy-os and freeze ’em. I think that’s your only hope.

    Another thought is that if Christine eats them now, your little one will be enjoying them, too!

  4. You know, I eat these cookies every time someone puts them out, but honestly, I don’t know why. I don’t really love them. In fact, I kind of find them a little bit waxy. And yet I can’t resist. Funny, huh?

  5. Cathy: Hilarious! I am so freezing a couple bags of them this week! And as for Christine eating Mother’s for two…that never occurred to me. Awesome!

    James: I know…I’m the same way, but now that I know these strangely appealing cookies are going the way of La Mervyn’s, I am craving them like mad! Crazy!

  6. Ginger

    I’m surprised you didn’t title this post “Mother’s Cookies Empire Finally Crumbles”. 😉

    Seriously, I am TOTALLY bummed because I loved those crazy little animal cookies. Especially the versions Mother’s Cookies released around the different holidays, like the red, white and blue ones for the 4th of July. A great era has truly ended….

  7. Melissa

    Wait a minute…is Mervyns’ closing too? Sheesh!

    English Tea cookies are yummy sandwich cookies; good for dunking in, um, tea (this is what happens when you hang out with a Brit: you start drinking tea…I swear those people think it’s as magical as chicken soup!). A little sweet, but at least they’re not waxy.

  8. Ha…thanks for the description of the English Tea Cookies, Melissa. Christine explained to me what they were — she too was a huge fan! — and actually showed me what they looked like at our local Von’s tonight.

    Which means they still have them at Von’s in Burbank for anyone on the English Tea Cookie hunt! But you better get there soon, those Mother’s were going fast! 🙂

  9. Aunt Trice

    You’re gonna need a bigger boat (to store those cookies)!

  10. Kristen

    It’s actually “ve con dios” without an accent.. I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist correcting you. I really hope I can get some of these cookies before they run out on the internet or something.. do they sell them online? I’ll go check..

  11. Aha, mukhas grathias poor sue ayoda, Kristen. Apparently, my Spanish ain’t what it used to be… 🙂

  12. Neal

    I’m soooo bummed. While I did/do like the circus animals.. my absolute all time fav were the iced oatmeal cookies with a big cold glass of milk. Preferably if they had been opened for about 5 days as it gave them just a little tiny bit of chewiness with the crunch.
    I read that Kellogg bought the Mothers side of the company? What’s one to do??…:(

  13. Cathy

    MOTHER’S COOKIES UPDATE ALERT!!!

    I know this is a super old topic, but I just had to let you know I just found a stash of Mother’s Cookies at our local Save Mart (used to be Albertsons). Now there were only Macaroons (yum), chocolate chip and oatmeal AND the expiration date is next month… but I didn’t really care. I bought three packages.

  14. OMG! So jealous!! And I hate Macaroons… 🙂

Leave a comment