Obama-Clinton: One ticket to rule them all…

Wow…what a day for politics in America! Christine and I actually sat in the parking lot at Trader Joe’s last night listening to Hillary Clinton’s “kinda concession” speech on the radio for what seemed like twenty minutes. Twenty minutes! In the parking lot…at Trader Joe’s…at rush hour…you know how many angry hippies honked at us? Yikes…

But despite the hippie uprising outside, we could not tear ourselves away from the history unfolding over the radio in our Saturn. I mean, it was so dramatic that you half expected Clinton to burst into “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina” or something. A great, memorable speech by a class act. It was incredible…

And even though she has not technically conceded defeat, Obama — who gave another one of his speeches for the ages last night as well — now has enough delegates to secure the Democratic Nomination for President of the United States of America. That’s right, a black dude from Hawaii might just be our next President. Mahalo, America, mahalo!

And if things go the way I hope they will, a hip white lady from Chicago just might join him on the ticket. My feeling is that Clinton’s waiting for a proper invite to the big dance, so, please, Barack, ask her out already! Can you imagine what kind of good these two could do for the country?

Sure, they have different styles and agendas, but hey, didn’t Gore and Clinton too? Those two weren’t exactly palling around all the time either, but they made a pretty rocking team. In fact, I actually think the friction between Obama and Clinton would be good for the country. I mean, hell, we’ve had eight years of “yes men” in Washington and look where it’s gotten us?

Wouldn’t it be cool to see two bold, independent, crazy smart leaders hashing things out together in the White House? That shit would be epic! Seriously, wow…just the thought of an Obama-Clinton ticket gives me goosebumps!

Let’s hope the two of them feel the same way…and that someone in one of their camps has already secured the Obama-Clinton.com domain name!

10 Comments

Filed under Do

10 responses to “Obama-Clinton: One ticket to rule them all…

  1. No way on Earth will they team up on the same ticket. You think Barack Obama would want Clinton to overshadow him? You think Michelle Obama would want Hill to be on the ticket?

    Plus, to look like a true leader, he has to man up and show the testicular fortitude to not pick the person everyone — including Hillary’s camp — is telling him to. Otherwise he’ll look like a big ole wuss.

    Mark my words, Obama is going to pick a very established, well-experienced, gray-haired white guy ala Chris Dodd or Joe Biden.

    Of course technically, the delegates pick the VP at the convention, not the candidate. And Hillary probably has enough delegates to force her way on the ticket. But if Obama publicly declares his desire to have someone else on the team, it would look bad if the delegates pick someone else.

    Either way, it’s a very interesting election year.

    FYI, I think the VP excitement this year will come not from the Democrats, but rather, the Republicans, when John McCain selects as his running mate the first Indian-American (Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal) or, my personal suggestion, Condoleeza Rice! Now that would be one helluva VP pick.

  2. Danielle

    Thanks for this post, it was terrific. In my eyes you have officially redeemed yourself (selves) after that Laura/Jenna Bush entry. I have ZERO tolerance for the Bush’s in any capacity.

    Danielle

  3. Here’s an interesting take on the pros and cons of the “dream ticket” from the National Journal …

    Who’s Dream Is It Anyway?
    Democrats are, of course, eager to know whether Barack Obama will ask Hillary Rodham Clinton to join his ticket. Running mates rarely matter in November, but Clinton’s presence would. The unique dynamics of their divisive, 18-month primary campaign guarantee that she’d play an outsized role in determining Democratic prospects this fall — in both good ways and bad …

    Click here to read the rest of the article…

  4. yeti9000

    No worries, Danielle, I might buy their children books, but I am no Bushie, baby! 🙂

    Go, Obama!

  5. Okay, what did I write back in June when you were still hoping for a unity ticket?

    “Mark my words, Obama is going to pick a very established, well-experienced, gray-haired white guy ala Chris Dodd or Joe Biden.”

    Well guess who was just proven correct?! 🙂

  6. yeti9000

    Yep, you were right and I have the text message from Obama to prove it! Hooray! 🙂

    Just kidding, I didn’t really sign up for the text message alert thing, but sure wish I did! That sounds like it would have been a lot of fun!

  7. Yeah, but Associated Press broke the news hours before the text message went out, so the people who signed up to be first to hear, weren’t necessarily the first to hear.

  8. yeti9000

    Wow…still nursing that old Hillary supporter bitterness, huh? 🙂

  9. Looking once again at the comment I posted back in June, I wrote:

    “FYI, I think the VP excitement this year will come not from the Democrats, but rather, the Republicans.”

    And now that McCain has selected Alaska Governor Sarah Palin, I see that once again my words have come true (although granted, I was wrong with the people I suggested).

    No matter what you think about McCain, you have to admit this is a pretty compelling pick for him. You can tell he’s angling for the disaffected Hillary supporters who may not be completely on the Obama bandwagon.

    I still think in the end Obama will win in November, but I think McCain just made it a close race.

    Everything I’ve heard about her is totally interesting. She hunts moose. She’s married to an eskimo. She won second place in a Miss Alaska beauty pageant. She’s a journalism major. She’s got five kids. Her oldest kid is in the Army and is being deployed to Iraq next month. The youngest is age 1 and has down syndrome (they knew the baby would have down syndrome and chose not to terminate the pregnancy).

    I’m still voting for Obama, but I have to say, she seems to be a pretty impressive pick for McCain’s veep.

  10. yeti9000

    Wow…she married an eskimo? That is almost enough to make me want to vote for her and Grandpa McCain!! 🙂

Leave a comment