Bean’s Roasted Beets & Beet Greens Salad w/Feta

Farmer’s Daughter Bean here again, and this time, I made something really good…hooray!

So, after my sunken cupcake debacle yesterday, I was a bit worried about trying out another new recipe, but I had picked up some really beautiful beets at the Farmer’s Market by my work and didn’t want them to go to waste. So after finally selling Tom on the idea of a roasted beet salad for lunch, I got to work…

First off, I should mention that I’ve never cooked beets before. But after scouring the internet for recipes, I cherry picked my favorite elements from each and then hoped for the best. And thankfully, my second experimental dish of the day turned out to be one of the tastiest things I’ve made in a long time.

And the healthy factor is kind of through the roof with this meal as beets — although not technically a “super food” — are amazingly good for you. I highly recommend them!

Now, the recipe below is a little time consuming, but, trust me, it’s not a lot of work and the pay off is amazing. My skeptical husband Tom liked it so much, he even had seconds! So, happy cooking!

First, roast the beets at 400º F. I used 2 bunches and cut any that were larger than a golf ball in half or quarters. You can peel them before or after they’ve roasted, but I’ve found it’s easier to peel them after. Plus, that way they retain all that juicy beet skin flavor.

Cover them with foil and cook for 30 minutes, then remove the foil and cook for an additional 15 minutes. When they are done cooking, peel them with a paring knife and cut into smaller pieces.

For the greens, cut or tear into 2 inch pieces, then thoroughly wash and dry (they can be a little wet). Mince 2 cloves of garlic and slice 2 – 3 green onions. In a large pan, heat 1 tbsp olive oil. Add the onions and cook for 1 minute, then add the garlic and cook for another minute. Add the greens and some salt & pepper. Cook for about 2 minutes or until tender.

Combine the beets and the greens in a bowl and add more salt and pepper to taste. Finish it off with 1 tbsp each of balsamic vinegar & olive oil and then toss to combine. Plate and then crumble some feta over the top and serve. Delicious!

Serving sizes can vary, but this recipe above served the two of us for lunch. If it was a side dish, it would probably be enough for 4 people. Anyway, let me know if you try it and, as always…happy eating!

5 Comments

Filed under Eat, Make

5 responses to “Bean’s Roasted Beets & Beet Greens Salad w/Feta

  1. I LOVE beets. I would marry them if I wasn’t married. These look gorgeous, nice job!

  2. You’re an artist!

  3. Danielle

    Wow, great! I love beets and eat them alot!

    I have a peeling tip for them: Add about a 1/2 inch of water to the roasting pan and leave them covered the entire cooking time. When they are done rub the skins off with some paper towels, keeps your hands from turning into too much of a delightful shade of fuscia.

  4. Danielle: Thanks for the tip! I was surprised that the color washed off so easily. I was expecting to have pink hands for at least a day or two. Does the water change the flavor of them at all? I liked the kind of earthiness they picked up from roasting them.

    Slackmistress: I agree! If I was a swinging single gal, me and beets would have a good ol time!

  5. Danielle

    Christine,
    I think the earthiness of them still comes out
    afterall they are grown underground 🙂
    Carlin hates them because she says, “they taste like dirt” lol
    Since you aren’t covering them with the water during roasting it really doesn’t dilute the flavor. Though you may have more of a refined palate then me…If you do them my way let me know if there is a difference.
    Danielle

Leave a Reply

