Funky Knitted Necklace & Scalloped Scarf

Wow, I know, 2 in a row from Farmer’s Daughter. I have been busy fulfilling my “Make” duties! These again are for girls I work with. The necklace was started in August. I even brought in the car on our Music Highway tour of Tennessee. It was a bit difficult to make. I’d like to challenge anyone to knit closed a ball while holding the stuffing inside it!

Funky knitted necklace by the Farmer’s Daughter Bean (Dec. 2007)

Once I got the hang of it, it wasn’t so bad, but it still was awkward. Natalie had seen the pattern in a book I checked out from the library called “Domiknitrix”. She showed some wicked enthusiasm (Tom’s words, not mine) for the necklace, so I had to make it for her.

Funky knitted necklace by Farmer’s Daughter Bean (Christmas 2007)

The scarf was crocheted for Sarah. I haven’t done a lot of crocheting, so it started off as a bit of a challenge too. I had tried to knit several different scarfs, but every one was coming out too manly. I wanted something pretty and feminine for her, so I pulled out “The Happy Hooker” and found this pattern. It’s made with organic cotton yarn and is really soft.

Scalloped scarf for Sarah by Farmer’s Daughter Bean (December 2007)

Both girls really seemed to like their gifts, so, yeah for me! Now if I could just finish that scarf for Yeti9000, all would be right with the world…

3 Comments

Filed under Make

3 responses to “Funky Knitted Necklace & Scalloped Scarf

  1. Oh I hope I didn’t spoil my birthday present by reading this blog post!

  2. They came out so nice and pretty….the crochet one looks really soft!

    I hope you’re feeling better!

  3. Fionnuala McDermott

    small styrofoam balls would have worked better than stuffing.

Leave a Reply

